Sytyke - Tulipunapalsami AANIA-8

Sytyke CD cover


The world's only stick-kantele-orchestra Sytyke was founded in 2005. The sextet uses 19 and 20-stringed Saarijärvi-kanteles mainly plucked with wooden sticks. This style of playing kantele with a stick as a plectrum - instead of plucking the strings with fingers only - was customary in the Saarijärvi region. The style itself almost disappeared from Finland, but has recently experienced a revival.


1. Paimeniikos työ oletta (Sampo Korva) 3:59

2. Kokkolan polska (Trad.) 3:34

3. Tulipunapalsami (Pauliina Syrjälä) 6:16

4. A-molssi & Grannas bastu (Trad.) 4:34

5. EliNoita (Ulla-Sisko Jauhiainen) 3:50

6. Väinämöisen soitto — Sufi Tales (Nikolay Ivanov) 4:12

7. Miete (Maija Kauhanen) 7:20

All songs arranged by Sytyke except ”Miete” by Maija Kauhanen and ”Tulipunapalsami” Pauliina Syrjälä. Lyrics traditional except ”EliNoita” by Ulla-Sisko Jauhiainen and ”Väinämöisen soitto” Trad./Ulla-Sisko Jauhiainen.

Members: Riikka Jaakola, Ulla-Sisko Jauhiainen, Maija Kauhanen, Marja-Liisa Keinänen, Sampo Korva, Pauliina Syrjälä.

Recorded, mixed & mastered by Taito Hoffrén
Produced by Sytyke & Taito Hoffrén
Graphic design by Tero Vesterinen
Photos by Nina Dannert
Translations by Girilal Baars

ISRC FI7KA0900001—7
EAN: 64 3002409 011

Ääniä Records - Acoustic Music from Finland

Ääniä Records publishes acoustic music by Finnish bands and artists. More information on the bands and artists can be found under the Artists link. You can buy records published by Ääniä for example from:

Record Shops

Digital Retailers